About Me

20121231-031 O+L - Version 2
My name is Luis Puerto and I’m from Ponferrada, a medium size town in the Northwest of Spain 🇪🇸 and the main city of El Bierzo county. El Bierzo, is a small region formed basically for a valley ending in Galicia and surrounded by Asturias and León.

There, I spent the first 30 years of my life and I went to  high school and college at University of León, where I got a Degree in Forestry and Environmental Engineering.

In the last years of my studies and after I got my degree, I worked in different forestry related projects around my region, where I got experience in GIS, GPS, forest management and inventory. Later, I landed in a non-profict organization related to the Spanish government, whose aims were related to the development El Bierzo, CO2 capture technologies and the Energy Museum. I was there for almost 4 years working in different positions, doing incredible different tasks and getting a great experience. I learned how a big organization works, how to manage big projects and budgets, I polished my cartographic skills and I got experience managing teams. I started as a responsible of field work for a research project related to chestnut tree blight and ended as responsible of the technology and innovation area.

After that, I decided look for an international career and moved to Umeå, Sweden 🇸🇪. I was living there for 6 months enjoying the Swedish life and people, being a little Skogstokig, learning a little bit of Swedish (jaaahhaa!!) and about fire management in the North or Europe. Finally, I enrolled in the iGEON master about GIS and remote sensing, from Lund University. Then, my SO decided to move to Joensuu, Finland 🇫🇮 for professional reasons where we’ve been living for more than 3 years (yes, it’s cold!, but only with the wrong clothing). There, I had the opportunity to learn Finnish (minä puhun vähän suomea), enjoy Finnish forest and sauna, learn a little bit of cross-country skiing and discover Finnish people and their silence.

Currently, I’m living in Corvallis, Oregon, USA 🇺🇸. My main objective here is to discover the Pacific Northwest and the American culture, and polish my English and meet people, of course.

My main areas of interest are, as you could guess for my background, forestry and engineering although I’m also interested in science and technology in general. I’m a really curious person and I’m usually interested in everything. While I was in Finland, I have the opportunity to learn and explore about remote sensing, LiDAR, biomass and research, and my current ongoing projects are related to those areas, while I finish my master. Recently, I also discover my interesest about statistics (I always hate them) and more specific about the rStats, data science and data visualization fields (long life to Tufte). Perhaps, for the influence of the people I have around (thanks!) and my fair-good relation with computers. Also, perhaps, because for me is a way to squeeze data and see the “hidden truth”. Finally, I interested in big data analysis, nanocomputing and new ways to get data.


Me somewhere in the middle of Lapland

Above all of that and in more personal setting, I really like the outdoors and I’m always ready to explore and camp in the wilderness. I’m interested in wide spectrum of musicphotography and movies too. For a while, I was doing a little bit of horseback riding and archery. During my stay in Finland, I developed an acute interest in baking bread and pizza, mainly because for us was difficult to find Spanish style (hard crust) bread there and I learned using Ken’s book (I was recently in his bakery and I have to say it was a delicious experience).

Other fields that call my attention are, politics, globalization and internationalization (in the human sense) and work management and organization (mainly through the Fifth Discipline). Astronomy and space exploration are of my interest too. And of course, history, as a way to learn from others experience.

On a final note, I’ve been also trying to improve my concentration through meditation, but the nirvana is something difficult to reach (damn!). I dream with learning to fly and to sail someday.